This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My backwoods moma girlfriend Kathy of blissbeyondnaptime up the valley has been without a little cock on the side for some time (poor girl) and as I have more cock than I know what to do with these days, I had to share with her (return of surplus: permaculture ethic). Her husband was on board with the new cock coming to stay so long as he wasn’t viscous like the last dearly departed one they had on the farm!  She was after a gentle good looking rooster with just enough strut in his step to keep her harem of hens happy, and I think we found just the cock for her… GILGAMESH, a stunning display of a Speckled Sussex heritage breed.  We introduced him to his new coop and home and her dexter calf MEATBALL trotted over right away to inspect the new cock of the walk. Her hens were all pretty lively and cautiously interested in the new rooster!

I think the chooks round here will be a little happier with the needs of one less little man to consider day to day. Speaking of those chooks, they are all so chickenness-of-the-chicken happy in their new forest home!  The first few nights our little bantam birds slept way way way up in the cedar trees just the two of them and I mean 20-30 feet up! After a bad descent which lead to yet another dog chase, I had to get proactive and herd them into the coop and lock ’em up with the other birds for the night, just to be safe… and mainly to keep them from the Odin side of the fence in the wee hours of the morning! Hopefully I don’t need to corral the birds each night, and a night of sleeping under the feather wings of ELVIS will keep them coming back into the coop for more hunka hunka burning love!

We are having some serious discussions about Odin’s future round here, just yesterday he jumped out of a moving car to chase a run away llama down the road! Much to my neighbours delight. Seems his hunt drive is in full tilt, and maybe he needs to find a new home OFF the range! We are sadly humming over this all 😦

Meanwhile Dylan built me some beautiful solid cedar wooden cold frames using old storm windows and mill scraps… so sweet! Tomorrow they will get filled with salad greens as they harden off and get ready to go in the ground! We have begun deconstructing the old chicken coop, are still waiting for the chicks to hatch, and have starting making concrete pilings inside old car tires for the 2nd yurt footing! Big old compost pile on the go and lots of sunny warm days to keep us busy outside! Whew.

I have been spreading the word about POTTING BLOCKS as I am mad in love with this new seed starting technique! Thanks to Rob from Verge Permaculture for getting me onto them… and my girlfriend Renata from the Red Snow Shoe followed suit shortly there after my ravings of happy block making… she is having great success’s too, read about her blocking adventures here! My window is full of fresh green life, growing steady and strong and straight! The few investments I made this year are all ready paying off dividends! We will be eating salad greens next week!

