This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The other day we sat back and realized that we have now been here for one month and one day, and it is remarkable just how much we have accomplished over the last 4 weeks!

Any one who had the great pleasure of visiting the trailer at Easter wouldn’t recognize this place at all! The living room / kitchen space is totally funky and livable! We are running with a trailer chiq theme. And so far so good! Although we are still subscripting to a bucket flush toilet system, life inside this tin can has improved drastically. Next week I will post pictures of the refinished kitchen, but this week although the finishings look great, we have tools everywhere and are doing dishes in the tub while the solid fir butcher block counter top is being assembled.

Even more exciting the garden is bursting with life and lessons! I have implemented many permaculture principles already and I am creating some seemingly positive systems to deal with weeds but in turn I am building soil mass and quality as well as diversity! I feel very fortunate to have a great amount of well fenced green space to play with and try out a few different systems. Last week I dug a huge swale at the top of my garden, it will be an access trail that is essentially serving a dual purpose as a passive drainage system to catch and slowly displace rain and spring water through the garden. The mound below the swale has been cover cropped with inoculated field pea as well as some clover and has become home to all of my tomato plants.  Much of the material I dug out from the swale was sand so building soil on top of the sandy mound will be a really measurable test I am looking forward to. The whole mass has now been covered with grass cuttings as well as straw to retain moisture and of course grow dirt! The herb heart is exploding with life and is a stunning entrance piece to the now newly cedar chip covered walkways in our bountiful garden! We are cooking up a big-ol pile of compost (the largest I have personally done, classes and studies aside) looks good so far, it’s steaming and smelly.. and I am eager to get my hands on the finished product!

I just planted a second round of lettuce and other quick growing greens and did another  layer of straw cover over the sheet mulch bed. I certainly have a little koch grass and horse tail sneaking into the beds but weeding this bed is simple and minimal and it’s really easy to identify what is a weed and what isn’t, which is so very useful as I am growing a few veggies I have never  grown (or been able to grow) before. After spending a morning in the blistering heat last weekend weeding a row of pee’s for our neighbors Frank & Val, I must say I much prefer the sheet mutch technique for addressing weeds. Now Franks garden is about 15x the size of mine, so it’s hard to even compare the two, both are no chem gardens, using different methods of planting and growing, and Frank has been expertly growing a good sized farm for years and years, he has a very systematic approach to what he is doing which is totally awe inspiring but I have to note the number of weeds per plant seems staggeringly less using this sheet mulch method. So I am inspired to see that all the time and money invested in this practice (new to me) is proving to be successful on all accounts so far! I have created an interesting chop and drop technique around the potato beds that I will address later this week in detail!

Our neighbour and artist friend Rabia of the Artful Lodger down the road came by the other day to scronge for rusty steal and upon doing so I found a great little stash of old (likely dukabore) garbage piles, containing great old vintage tin cans. I fell in love with the above sweet orange honey tin!

EXCITING NEWS: Dylan has been accepted as in intern on a Michael Reyolds Earthship project in Northern BC this August! This will be an amazing opportunity for him to learn the ins and outs of earthship biotecture from the founder of rammed earth into car tire construction himself!

In lue of this I have decided to host a ladies canning bee garden getaway the 2 weeks Dylan will be away ramming earth. Lots of the fruit should be ready to preserve by mid August, and there will be lots of greens from the garden to enjoy. So ladies if you’d like a little getaway trip plan to come out mid Auaust for some fun in the sun: gardening, biking, hiking, preserving, swimming, floating and taking in the sandy beach at the lakes! I can promise no end of good food, and hopefully if this spring weather of 30º+ is an indicator these big beautiful blue skies will soak us in warmth!

Also on that note July is the wood shop build off and Dylan is looking for a few more strong hands to help with his post and sand bag building. Lots of dead standing trees in the forest we need to bring down and use to build and stock the firewood pile before winter too! * and we could really use a electrician around soon too 😉

Lastly our cell phones are both disconnected these days and our new home number is 250-226-7402. (oops i was just informed this number had been incorrect for the last 2 weeks… the current post is now correct!)

HOPE TO SEE LOTS OF YOU AT OUR GOOD BYE PARTY  IN CALGARY NEXT WEEKEND or better yet out here in the stunning Koot’s!

Happy Summer Solstice Everyone!

